Cafe Owner Gives Brilliant Response To Angry Tripadvisor Review

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are two types of people in the world. The kind of people who realise that something is way overpriced but just grimace and pay it anyway, and then those who get and angry start and argument with the waitress about the prices she didn’t set and has no power over.

Well, this woman was neither. She pretended to be person A, and then when she got home she did a quick-change to Person B and took to the internet to complain about the prices in a High Petergate cafe and bistro.

Person A/B, or Hannah, had met with friends at Bennet’s for afternoon tea.

Being based in London, I can sympathise with her totally on the whole ‘overpriced’ thing. I once paid 1.50 for a creme egg (totally worth it), but I can say for sure that most of us don’t tend to go out for ‘afternoon tea’ if we’re on a ‘tight budget’. We stay in and eat supernoodles. Try it sometime, Hannah.

The cafe, which has been ranked 11th in the area, responded promptly.

It’s a bit of a slow start, but well worth reading to the end:

Im sorry that you feel that you were ripped off and Ill try to explain why you werent.You entered the cafe and the waiter showed you to your seat, gave you a menu, waited for a time and then took your order.

He entered it into the till, collected a cup, saucer and spoon and took them into the kitchen. There, he selected a knife, chopping board, got a lemon from the fridge, cut off a slice and put it in the cup. Then, he returned to the dining room, drew off the necessary hot water and carried the cup to your table.

When you were leaving, he printed off your bill, took it to you, processed your credit card payment and cashed off the till.

After you left, he cleared away your cup, saucer and spoon, took them into the kitchen, washed and dried them, along with the chopping board and knife and put away the lemon.

Then, returning to the dining room he restacked the cup, saucer and spoon, wiped down your table and replaced the menu, awaiting the next customer. Thats at least 2-3 minutes work for the waiter.

The cost of overheads for the business, i.e rent, business rates, electricity costs, bank charges, etc works out at 27.50 per hour of trading. I pay my colleagues a decent living wage and after taking into account holiday pay, national insurance and non-productive time prior to opening and after closing, the waiter who served you costs me 12.50 per hour.

Therefore, together the cost is 40 per hour or 67p per minute, meaning that the cost of providing you with 2-3 minutes of service was 1.34 2.00. Then the government add on VAT at 20% which takes the cost of that cup of fruit infusion to between 1.60 and 2.40 irrespective of whether you had a teabag costing one and a half pence or a slice of lemon costing five pence.

I have to pay my suppliers otherwise the facilities wont be available to other people who use them in the future. I accept that it makes the price of a cuppa in a city centre cafe look expensive compared to the one you make at home but unfortunately thats the cruel reality of life.

Its actually the facilities that cost the money, far more so than the ingredients.

Perhaps, the rudeness that you perceived in me was triggered by the disrespect that I perceived in you by your presumption that you could use our facilities and be waited on for free.’

Basically, to sum up, running a cafe costs money. And employing people also costs money. So basically, money money money.

Money.

What do you think? Let us know in the comments

Read more: http://www.hellou.co.uk/2016/01/cafe-owner-gives-brilliant-response-to-angry-tripadvisor-review-76790/

Comments

comments

Comments are closed.